perjantai 25. maaliskuuta 2011

King Kobra

Forming of the band & first album

King Kobra was put together by former Ozzy Osbourne drummer Carmine Appice where Johnny Rod played bass, David Michael-Philips and Mick Sweda played guitar in vocals they had Mark Free. They released their first album through Capitol Records and it was released on 9 of November 1985 named Ready To Strike.  Their single from the album “Hunger” was on the film Transformers: The movie.

Track Listing for Ready To Strike:

1. "Ready To Strike" 
2. "Hunger"
3. "Shadow Rider"
4. "Shake Up"
5. "Attention"
6. "Breakin' Out"
7."Tough Guys"
8. "Dancing With Desire"
9. "Second Thoughts"
10. "Piece Of The Rock"

Second album

They released their next album in 1986 called Thrill Of A Lifetime which got good reception. From the album track “Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)” was in the initial movie soundtrack Iron Eagle (1986). This album was last one with the legendary setup Appice, Philips, Rod, Sweda, Free.

Track Listing for Thrill Of A Lifetime:

1. Second Time Around
2. Dream On
3. Feel The Heat
4. Thrill Of A Lifetime
5. Only The Strong Will Survive
6. Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)
7. Home Street Home
8. Overnight Sensation
9. Raise Your Hands To Rock
10. Party Animal

King Kobra III & break up of the band

Band conforted many changes to their lineup before releasing their third album King Kobra III in 1988 when Johnny Rod left to play in W.A.S.P, Mark Sweda left to form Bulletboys and vocalist Mark Free went to group up Signal. To record the album Appice and Philips recruited vocalist Johnny Edwards basist Larry Hart and guitarist Jeff Northrup. The album sales were low which led to the dissolution of the band when Carmine Appice left to join Blue Murder.

Track Listing for King Kobra III

1. "Mean Street Machine"
2. "Take It Off"
3. "Walls of Silence”
4. "Legends Never Die"
5. "Redline"
6. "Burning in Her Fire"
7. "Perfect Crime"
8. "It's My Life"
9. "#1"

New King Kobra

In 2010 King Kobra returned after having over 20 years break with Paul Shortino taking over vocal duties, Carmine Appice on drums, Johnny Rod on bass, Michael Sweda on guitar and David Henzerling on guitar. They will be releasing new album April 15th in europe and May 5th in North America.

31 kommenttia:

  1. i've never listened to this band specifically before, but i have heard the first song. Love the sound they have though.

  2. King Kobra krushes the kompetition.

  3. Thank god someone put some good music on here

  4. i almost cried when they got their hair cut in the never say die video ;_;

  5. They are back!? Woah, It's been a looooong time!

  6. Amazing band. So nice to see another decent music blog

  7. I'd never even heard of these guys.

  8. Its about time there was a blog like this, keep it up!

  9. hahha so awesome, thanks for the list

  10. Love the videos man! Awesome stuff thanks for sharing!

  11. I'm actually not that familiar with them. I must amend this at once.

  12. nice way to test my new speaker set,!

  13. I wil;l look around for more Kobra's info, i never heard it was formed with Ozzy! Thanks for info.

  14. Not really my style. Neat read though.

  15. Lol I'd never heard of their name before, but once i played the songs i realised I have actually heard them quite a bit before.

  16. Hey, I know the music but I had no idea who the band were. Nice one!