torstai 31. maaliskuuta 2011

Steeler - Steeler

Yngwie J. Malmsten vs. Ron Keel. Those names represent the terrestrial one between good and evil eternal struggle. That battle was one of the battlegrounds Steeler-minded band imaginatively named "Steeler" album. 
Guitar virtuoso Yngwie was still quite unknown in those days, a rough diamond that was still in the first "baby-steps" towards better bandbuddies. At the moment Ron Keel was enjoying steady reputation from the U.S. hard rock scene. 
Keel and Yngwie was joined by bassist Rik Fox and drummer Mark Edwards to record their first and only album "Steeler" in 1983.

Track listing:

"Cold day in hell"
"Backseat Driver"
"No Way Out"
"Hot on your heels"
"On the Rox"
"Down to the wire"
"Born to rock "

This album was important springboard for Yngwie J. Malmsteen sensational solo career and the whole world's attention can not be otherwise underestimated. Did you know Yngwies that the correct name is Lars Johan Yngve Lannerbäck? Neither did i.

Mr.Keel also left an indelible mark to eighties rock. Keel can not be ignored when talking about the 80's Hard 'n Heavy bands. 

Steeler's "Steeler" does not rise even a whole genre middle caste. Even though Yngwie gives a warning for his firepower. Ron Keels lame singing and angular stiffness caused this album to be below average.

Soon after the album was released Yngwie broke the band by joining Alcatrazz and Keel to form his on band called Keel after failing in audition to join Black Sabbath. Drummer Mark Edwards left to Lion and basist Rik Fox went to play in W.A.S.P.

perjantai 25. maaliskuuta 2011

King Kobra

Forming of the band & first album

King Kobra was put together by former Ozzy Osbourne drummer Carmine Appice where Johnny Rod played bass, David Michael-Philips and Mick Sweda played guitar in vocals they had Mark Free. They released their first album through Capitol Records and it was released on 9 of November 1985 named Ready To Strike.  Their single from the album “Hunger” was on the film Transformers: The movie.

Track Listing for Ready To Strike:

1. "Ready To Strike" 
2. "Hunger"
3. "Shadow Rider"
4. "Shake Up"
5. "Attention"
6. "Breakin' Out"
7."Tough Guys"
8. "Dancing With Desire"
9. "Second Thoughts"
10. "Piece Of The Rock"

Second album

They released their next album in 1986 called Thrill Of A Lifetime which got good reception. From the album track “Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)” was in the initial movie soundtrack Iron Eagle (1986). This album was last one with the legendary setup Appice, Philips, Rod, Sweda, Free.

Track Listing for Thrill Of A Lifetime:

1. Second Time Around
2. Dream On
3. Feel The Heat
4. Thrill Of A Lifetime
5. Only The Strong Will Survive
6. Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)
7. Home Street Home
8. Overnight Sensation
9. Raise Your Hands To Rock
10. Party Animal

King Kobra III & break up of the band

Band conforted many changes to their lineup before releasing their third album King Kobra III in 1988 when Johnny Rod left to play in W.A.S.P, Mark Sweda left to form Bulletboys and vocalist Mark Free went to group up Signal. To record the album Appice and Philips recruited vocalist Johnny Edwards basist Larry Hart and guitarist Jeff Northrup. The album sales were low which led to the dissolution of the band when Carmine Appice left to join Blue Murder.

Track Listing for King Kobra III

1. "Mean Street Machine"
2. "Take It Off"
3. "Walls of Silence”
4. "Legends Never Die"
5. "Redline"
6. "Burning in Her Fire"
7. "Perfect Crime"
8. "It's My Life"
9. "#1"

New King Kobra

In 2010 King Kobra returned after having over 20 years break with Paul Shortino taking over vocal duties, Carmine Appice on drums, Johnny Rod on bass, Michael Sweda on guitar and David Henzerling on guitar. They will be releasing new album April 15th in europe and May 5th in North America.

maanantai 21. maaliskuuta 2011

Whitesnake - Still Of the Night

Whitesnake was requested so here's some Whitesnake then. This one is the first track from their maybe best known 1987 album  and also my favorite one from the album :) So listen and comment what you think about this one.

lauantai 19. maaliskuuta 2011

Cinderella - Nobody's Fool

It's another great song and great band from the eighties! I like this song myself especially because it's the first one i heard from them. Comment if you liked it :)

perjantai 18. maaliskuuta 2011