tiistai 14. kesäkuuta 2011

Ratt - Out of the Cellar

In 1983 Ratt signed with Atlantic Records to record their first full lenght album Out of the Cellar. The breakthrough album was released in March of 1984.

Out of the Cellar became a commercial success, reaching three time platinum in United States.

The model on the album cover is Robbin Crosbys at the time girlfriend Tawny Kitaen, later seen on various Whitesnake music videos.

Stephen Pearcy - vocals
Warren DeMartini - guitar
Robbin Crosby - guitar
Juan Croucier - bas
Bobby Blotzer - drums

Track listing:

"Wanted Man"
"You're in Trouble"
"Round and Round"
"In Your Direction"
"She Wants Money"
"Lack of Communication"
"Back for More"
"The Morning After"
"I'm Insane"
"Scene of the Crime" 

The album peaked #7 at The Billboard 200 album chart and "Round and Round" single #12 on The Billboard Hot 100

torstai 2. kesäkuuta 2011

Black 'n Blue - Black 'n Blue

Black 'n Blue is american glam metal band from Portland, Oregon. The band formed in 1981 but moved to Los Angeles in 1982.

In 1984, they released their self-titled debut album through Geffen Records. It archieved decent success.


Jaime St. James - Vocals
Tommy Thayer - Guitar
Jeff Warner - Guitar
Patrick Young - bass
Pete Holmes - drums

Track Listing:

"The Strong Will Rock"
"School of Hard Knocks"
"Hold on to 18"
"Wicked Bitch"
"Show Me the Night"
"One for the Money"
"I'm the King"
"Chains Around Heaven"

This album includes their best known hit "Hold On to 18"

The album peaked at position #129 on U.S. album charts.

maanantai 23. toukokuuta 2011

Kiss - Creatures of the Night

Creatures of the Night is tenth studio album released by Kiss. It was also last album to be released through Casablanca Records. The album were more hard rock stylish than previous Dynasty and Unmasked albums. Musically, Creatures of the Night was the band's heaviest recording after Love Gun, and was matched later only by Revenge.

Personnel on the album:

Paul Stanley - rhythm guitar, vocals
Gene Simmos - bass, vocals
Eric Carr - drums
Ace Frehley - credited for lead guitar, but didn't play on the album
Vinnie Vincent - lead guitar

Track Listing:

"Creatures of the Night"
"Saint and Sinner"
"Keep Me Comin"
"Rock and Roll Hell"
"I Love It Loud"
"I Still Love You"
"War Machine"

This was Frehley's last album with the band until 1996 reunioin.

"I Love It Loud" peaked at #22 on Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks in 1983.
The album was certificated gold in United States after twelve years of its release in 1994.

maanantai 9. toukokuuta 2011

Queensrÿche - Rage For Order

American progressive heavy metal band Queensrÿche released their second full length album on June 26, 1986 through EMI America Records. The album featured keyboards as prominently as guitars, and the group adopted an image closer to glam metal.


Geoff Tate - vocals, keyboards
Chris DeGarmo - guitar
Michael Wilton - guitar
Eddie Jackson - bass
Scott Rockenfield - drums

Track Listing:

"Walk in the Shadows"
"I Dream in Infrared"
"The Whisper"
"Gonna Get Close to You"
"The Killing Words"
"Surgical Strike"
"Neue Regel"
"Chemical Youth (We Are Rebellion)"
"Screaming in Digital"
"I Will Remember"

The album was ranked #88 on Kerrang! magazine's "100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time" in January 1989.

The album peaked at #47 on U.S Billboard 200 and single release "Gonna Get Close To You " hit #91 at UK single charts.

maanantai 2. toukokuuta 2011

Femme Fatale

Femme Fatale was an glam metal band from Albuquerque, New Mexico. They moved to Los Angeles in 1987 to sign a recording contract.

They released their self ttitled album in 1988 through MCA Records. It was their debut and only album to be released.

Personnel on the album

Lorraine Lewis - vocals
Bill d'Angelo - guitar
Mazzi Rawd - guitar, keywords
Rick Rael - bass
Bobby Murray - drums

Track listing:

Waiting for the Big One
Falling in and Out of Love
My Baby's Gun
Back in Your Arms Again
Fortune and Fame
Touch and Go
Heat the Fire
Cradle's Rockin'

The album also peaked at #141 position on The Billboard 200.

"Waiting for the Big One" and "Falling in and out of Love" are the band's two signature songs.

After touring the world with Cheap Trick, recording was to start on a new studio album, but it was never completed and the band dissolved in 1990.

sunnuntai 24. huhtikuuta 2011

Metallica - ..And Justice for All

..And Justice for All is Metallica’s fourth studio album and first after Cliff Burton’s death. It was released on August 25, 1988

The album has certified 8x platinum by the RIAA in 2003.

The front cover depicts the statue of Lady Justice cracked, bound by ropes, her breasts exposed, and both of her scales filled with dollars.

Track listing

 "..And Justce for All"
 "Eye of the Beholder"
 "The Shortest Straw"
 "Harvester of Sorrow"
 "The Frayed Ends of Sanity"
 "To Live Is to Die"
 "Dyer's Eve"

"One" was their first Top 40 hit single, reaching number 35 on the Billboard Hot 100 and also was the first music video filmed by Metallica.

sunnuntai 17. huhtikuuta 2011

Stryper - To Hell with the Devil

To Hell with the Devil is second full-length album and third release from the Christian glam metal band Stryper. It was release on October 24, 1986 and sold platinum after being three months on Billboard’s album charts. The album also received a Grammy Award nomination.

Songs like “Calling on you”, “Honestly” and “Free” were frequently played on MTV in 1987.

Track Listing:

"To Hell with the Devil"
"Calling On You"
"The Way"
"Sing-Along Song"
"Holdin' on"
"Rockin' the World"
"All of me"
"More Than a Man"

“Honestly” is Stryper’s top hit, reaching #23 on the Top40 charts

Throughout 1987, both music videos for "Free" and "Honestly" ranked #1 on Dial MTV, the nightly MTV list of most requested videos.